Message Deleting and Changes to File Transfers

Hello,

We have received great feedback off of our update earlier this week, which you can read about by clicking here. We’ve had great talks with the chat owners, whether it was in-chat, over our Facebook page, or via our Ticket system. We’re glad to know it’s been a hit!

Now, there are two important matters to discuss, so chat owners, please take the time to read this to understand what’s new with Minnit Chat.

First order of business… The ability to delete individual messages is finally here. This has been requested by many owners, so we hope you enjoy it.

By default, all Moderators, Managers, and Owners may delete messages. To do this, you can either use the three dots next to a message, right-click a message, or tap-and-hold a message. You should then see the “Delete Message” option.

Once you delete the message, you will see “Message has been deleted by [your name]. Click to view.” Don’t worry — only those who are allowed to delete messages will see this! The rest of the users in your chat will no longer see the message whatsoever, as if it never existed.

If you click to view the message, you can also repeat the steps to un-delete the message. So, if you make a mistake, or a Moderator was unfairly deleting messages, you can always undo it. You have full control!

And, of course, in “Ranks, Permissions and Bans”, you can take away the deletion ability from Moderators or Managers. Taking this away also stops them from being allowed to view deleted messages, or view who deleted them.

Second order of business… The method that File Uploads works in Direct Messages has been revised. When we first released it, it always allowed everyone to upload anything in Direct Messages — which proved unpopular. So, here are the new rules:

  • If you DM a user in the same chat as you, you can only upload what the owner set.
  • If you DM a user in another chatroom or offline, you cannot upload anything, only send regular messages.
  • If you DM a user, and both of you have each other added as a friend, then you can both upload anything, even if one is offline or in another chat. This means if the chat owner turned off image uploads to keep the chat looking clean, but you want to share a photo of your cat, you and your friend can just add one another and send it via DM. Content uploaded in DMs will not count against the chatroom’s monthly bandwidth — instead, each user’s account gets 1GB/month of uploads specifically for DMs.

  • These rules are subject to change in the future.

    We hope you enjoy these changes. We’re hard at work on more features as we speak, so stay tuned to our Facebook and Twitter pages for the latest updates.

    Happy chatting!

    Jesse @brk